Facilities

UKCRIC Facilities

UKCRIC has 11 test facilities and 6 Urban Observatories across the UK at a number of partner organisations, many of which are available for use by academics and students as well as industry and government.

Full details of UKCRIC's test facilities and Urban Observatories can be found below.

Test Facility Based at Contact
National Distributed Water Infrastructure Facility University of Sheffield Dr Alexey Bochenkov, a.bochenkov@sheffield.ac.uk
Fire and Impact Laboratory for Resilient Infrastructure Materials University of Manchester Professor Yong Wang, yong.wang@manchester.ac.uk
National Infrastructure Laboratory University of Southampton Dr Duncan Crump, dac400@soton.ac.uk
Centre for Infrastructure Materials University of Leeds Professor Leon Black, l.black@leeds.ac.uk
Person-Environment-Activity Research Laboratory UCL Professor Nick Tyler, n.tyler@ucl.ac.uk
National Research Facility for Water and Wastewater Treatment Cranfield University Professor Paul Jeffrey, p.j.jeffrey@cranfield.ac.uk
Soil-Foundation-Structure Interaction Laboratory University of Bristol Professor Anastasios Sextos, a.sextos@bristol.ac.uk
National Research Facility for Infrastructure Sensing University of Cambridge Dr Pieter Desnerck, prhd2@eng.cam.ac.uk
National Buried Infrastructure Facility University of Birmingham Professor David Chapman, d.n.chapman@bham.ac.uk
Advanced Infrastructure Materials Laboratory Imperial College London Professor Chris Cheeseman, c.cheeseman@imperial.ac.uk
National Green Infrastructure Facility Newcastle University Dr Ross Stirling, ross.stirling@ncl.ac.uk

 

Urban Observatory Based at Contact
Newcastle Urban Observatory Newcastle University

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

urbanobservatory@ncl.ac.uk

Bristol Infrastructure Collaboratory  University of Bristol

www.bristol.ac.uk/engineering/research/ukcricbristol/collaboratory/

Dr Theo Tryfonas, Theo.Tryfonas@bristol.ac.uk

Urban Flows Observatory University of Sheffield

urbanflows.ac.uk

urbanflows@sheffield.ac.uk

Cranfield Urban Observatory Cranfield University

www.cranfield.ac.uk/facilities/urban-observatory

Angela Colclough, a.colclough@cranfield.ac.uk

Manchester Urban Observatory University of Manchester

www.urbanobservatory.manchester.ac.uk

Matthew Harrison, matthew.harrison@manchester.ac.uk

Birmingham Urban Observatory University of Birmingham

birminghamurbanobservatory.com

Lee Chapman, l.chapman@bham.ac.uk

Professor David Richards 

Head of UKCRIC Test Facilities 

+44 (023) 8059 2848
djr@soton.ac.uk

 

Professor Stephanie Glendinning 

Principal Investigator for UKCRIC Urban Observatories 

+44 (0) 191 208 6612

stephanie.glendinning@ncl.ac.uk

Professor Jim Hall

Principal Investigator for DAFNI

 +44 (0)1865 275847
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk

UKCRIC FACILITIES

Infrastructure Database, Modelling, Simulation and Visualisation Facilities

National Buried Infrastructure Facility

Contacts
Prof Chris Rogers– Director
Dr David Chapman– Technical Director
Prof Ian Jefferson– Deputy Director Geo Processes
Prof Chris Baker– TRAIN Rig Director
Prof Nicole Metje– Deputy Director Sensor Systems

University of Birmingham

Centre for Infrastructure Materials, Imperial

Imperial College, London

Contact
Prof Nick Buenfeld (Imperial)

National Infrastructure Lab, Southampton

National Soil-Foundation-Structure Interaction (SoFSI) Facility, Bristol

Research Facility for Infrastructure Sensing, Cambridge

Contacts
Dr Jennifer Schooling, Director of the Centre for Smart Infrastructure
Dr Simon Guest, Head of Civil Engineering

Urban Water Infrastructure Facility, Cranfield

Urban Observatory, Newcastle

Contacts
Stephanie Glendinning
Phil James

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

Urban Water Infrastructure Facility, Sheffield

Person-Environment-Activity Research Laboratory (PEARL)

Contact
Prof Nick Tyler

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Bristol

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Cardiff

Contact
Rhys Thomas

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Manchester

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Newcastle

Contact
Prof Richard Dawson

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Sheffield