Facilities

UKCRIC Facilities

UKCRIC has a number of Infrastructure Laboratories, Urban Observatories and Modelling and Simulation facilities across the UK at its partner organisations, many of which are already available for use by academics and students as well as industry and government. 

If you'd like to use any of our facilities, it's important that you start talking to us early, to ensure we can provide the resources required for the proposed project. If you would like to enquire about using our facilities, please click here to let us know your requirements

We will then arrange for you to visit the facility. We'll also discuss with you any potential intellectual property arising from the project, and put plans into place for its appropriate protection.

EPSRC-funded proposals will be given top priority for usage of the facility and accompanying equipment.

Please note that UKCRIC is not a lab service provider or an accredited analysis service.

Full details of UKCRIC's Infrastructure Laboratories, Urban Observatories and Modelling and Simulation facilities can be found below.

 

Infrastructure Laboratory Based at
National Distributed Water Infrastructure Facility University of Sheffield Prof. Steve Thornton, s.f.thornton@sheffield.ac.uk
Fire and Impact Laboratory for Resilient Infrastructure Materials University of Manchester Prof. Yong Wang, yong.wang@manchester.ac.uk
National Infrastructure Laboratory University of Southampton Prof. David White, david.white@soton.ac.uk
Centre for Infrastructure Materials University of Leeds Prof. Leon Black, l.black@leeds.ac.uk
Person-Environment-Activity Research Laboratory UCL Prof. Nick Tyler, n.tyler@ucl.ac.uk
National Research Facility for Water and Wastewater Treatment Cranfield University Prof. Paul Jeffrey, p.j.jeffrey@cranfield.ac.uk
Soil-Foundation-Structure Interaction Laboratory University of Bristol Prof. Anastasios Sextos, a.sextos@bristol.ac.uk
National Research Facility for Infrastructure Sensing University of Cambridge Dr Pieter Desnerck, prhd2@eng.cam.ac.uk
National Buried Infrastructure Facility University of Birmingham Prof. David Chapman, d.n.chapman@bham.ac.uk
Advanced Infrastructure Materials Laboratory Imperial College London Prof. Chris Cheeseman, c.cheeseman@imperial.ac.uk
National Green Infrastructure Facility Newcastle University Dr Ross Stirling, ross.stirling@ncl.ac.uk
Centre for Future Infrastructure University of Edinburgh Prof. Gordon Masterton, gordon.masterton@ed.ac.uk
VSimulators at Bath University of Bath

Dr Antony Darby, A.P.Darby@bath.ac.uk

VSimulators at Exeter University of Exeter

Prof. James Brownjohn, vsimulators@exeter.ac.uk

The National Robotarium

Heriot-Watt University

National Robotarium, NationalRobotarium@hw.ac.uk

National Facility for Infrastructure Construction

Loughborough University

Prof. Sergio Cavalaro, s.cavalaro@lboro.ac.uk

 

Urban Observatory Based at Contact
Newcastle Urban Observatory Newcastle University

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

urbanobservatory@ncl.ac.uk

Bristol Infrastructure Collaboratory University of Bristol

www.bristol.ac.uk/engineering/research/ukcricbristol/collaboratory/

Dr Theo Tryfonas, Theo.Tryfonas@bristol.ac.uk

Urban Flows Observatory University of Sheffield

urbanflows.ac.uk

urbanflows@sheffield.ac.uk

Cranfield Urban Observatory Cranfield University

Urban Observatory (cranfield.ac.uk)

Dr Simon Jude s.jude@cranfield.ac.uk

Manchester Urban Observatory University of Manchester

www.urbanobservatory.manchester.ac.uk

muo@manchester.ac.uk

Birmingham Urban Observatory University of Birmingham

birminghamurbanobservatory.com

Lee Chapman, l.chapman@bham.ac.uk

 

Modelling and Simulation Based at Contact
DAFNI Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Harwell

Prof. Jim Hall, jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk

Professor David Richards 

Head of UKCRIC Test Facilities 

+44 (023) 8059 2848
djr@soton.ac.uk

 

Professor Phil James 

Project Director for UKCRIC Urban Observatories 

+44 (0) 191 208 6612

stephanie.glendinning@ncl.ac.uk

Professor Jim Hall

Principal Investigator for DAFNI

 +44 (0)1865 275847
jim.hall@ouce.ox.ac.uk

UKCRIC FACILITIES

Infrastructure Database, Modelling, Simulation and Visualisation Facilities

National Buried Infrastructure Facility

Contacts
Prof Chris Rogers– Director
Dr David Chapman– Technical Director
Prof Ian Jefferson– Deputy Director Geo Processes
Prof Chris Baker– TRAIN Rig Director
Prof Nicole Metje– Deputy Director Sensor Systems

University of Birmingham

Centre for Infrastructure Materials, Imperial

Imperial College, London

Contact
Prof Nick Buenfeld (Imperial)

National Infrastructure Lab, Southampton

National Soil-Foundation-Structure Interaction (SoFSI) Facility, Bristol

Research Facility for Infrastructure Sensing, Cambridge

Contacts
Dr Jennifer Schooling, Director of the Centre for Smart Infrastructure
Dr Simon Guest, Head of Civil Engineering

Urban Water Infrastructure Facility, Cranfield

Urban Observatory, Newcastle

Contacts
Stephanie Glendinning
Phil James

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

Urban Water Infrastructure Facility, Sheffield

Person-Environment-Activity Research Laboratory (PEARL)

Contact
Prof Nick Tyler

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Bristol

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Cardiff

Contact
Rhys Thomas

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Manchester

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Newcastle

Contact
Prof Richard Dawson

www.urbanobservatory.ac.uk

Integrated Urban Infrastructure Labs, Sheffield